Gambia’s Afcon 2021 squad: Saintfiets Barrow and Darboe of Bologna confirmed

The Scorpions coach has decided to drop out Alasana Manneh and Sheriff Sinyan as he selects his final group to travel to Cameroon.

Coach Tom Saintfiet has revealed his final 28-man Gambia team for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, which includes players like Musa Barrow, Ebrima Colley, James Gomez, and Ebrima Darboe.

Captain Pa Modou Jagne was recalled from the Scorpions’ squad, while Alasana Manneh, Sheriff Sinyan, Maudo Jarjue, and Abdoulie Sanyang were dropped off.

Saintfiet’s defensive options include Omar Colley, Noah Sundberg, Gomez, Ibou Touray, Saidy Janko, and Mohammed Mbaye.

Yusupha Njie of Portugal, Sulayman Marreh of Gent, and Muhammed Badamosi of Belgium will lead the Gambia line.

See also  CAFCL: Wydad join Ahly, Setif and Petro in final four - 2021/22 CAF Champions League

“The squad is selected based on the principles that we have to look ahead on what we need,” Saintfiet told Caf website.

“Looking to the opponents that we will face and possible opponents in the later stages.

“For every position, we needed alternatives we also wanted to create a very good group, a good cohesion in the group, and a good atmosphere.


“Naturally, also several players out of respect for their role in achieving the qualification.


“Together I think we have a very balanced group with a lot of young, quality but also some experienced players.”


The Gambia is part of Group F, which includes Tunisia, Mali, and Mauritania. On the 12th of January 2021, they will face Mauritania in Limbe in their first-ever Afcon encounter.

See also  Why the Super Eagles should not throw the bath water and the baby away

Gambia’s Afcon 2021 squad

Goalkeepers: Baboucarr Gaye (Rot-Weiss Koblenz, Germany), Sheikh Sibi (Virtus Verona, Italy), Modou Jobe (Black Leopards, South Africa).

Defenders: Pa Modou Jagne (FC Dietikon, Switzerland), Omar Colley (Sampdoria, Italy), James Gomez (AC Horsens, Denmark), Noah Sonko Sundberg (Ostersund, Sweden), Bubacarr Sanneh (Unattached), Ibou Touray (Salford City, England), Saidy Janko (Real Valladolid, Spain), Mohammed Mbye (Solvesborg, Sweden).

You might like

About the Author: Karomass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.