Micha names Alaves’ Owono and Olympiacos’ Siafa Equatorial Guinea’s Afcon 2021 squad confirmed

  • Stars from Spain and Greece take center stage. National Thunder’s squad will compete for honors in Cameroon.

Coach Juan Micha has named his final 28-man Equatorial Guinea squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, with Dorian Hanza, Basilio Ndong, and Jesus Owono among the standout names.

Alex Balboa of Deportivo Alaves, Jose Machin of Olympiacos, Oscar Siafa of Olympiacos, and Saul Coco of Las Palmas were among the players selected.

Manuel Sapunga (Futuro Kings), Mariano Magno (Deportivo Unidad), Miguel Angel Maye (Futuro Kings), Pedro Oba (Futuro Kings), Cosme Anvene (Deportivo Unidad), and Luis Enrique Nsue (Deportivo Unidad) are the six local professionals Micha has chosen (Futuro Kings).

The Central Africans are competing in their third edition of the biennial African extravaganza, with their best performance coming in 2015 when they finished fourth on home soil.

See also  Egypt's proposed team for the 2021 African Cup of Nations  led by Liverpool's Mohamed Salah


At the Nuevo Estadio de Malabo, Malabo, they were defeated 4-2 on penalties after a 0-0 draw in extra time.


After failing to qualify for 2017 (Gabon) and 2019 (Egypt) editions, that was their final appearance at the African football extravaganza.


Algeria, Sierra Leone, and Cote d’Ivoire have been assigned to Group E for Cameroon 2021. On January 12, they will face the Elephants at Japoma Stadium in Douala to begin their campaign.


They’ll take on the reigning African champions four days later before facing the Leone Stars in Limbe on January 20.


Equatorial Guinea squad for Afcon 2021

Goalkeepers: Aitor Embela (Somozas, Spain), Jesus Owono (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Manuel Sapunga (Futuro Kings, Equatorial Guinea), Mariano Magno (Deportivo Unidad, Equatorial Guinea).

See also  Ivory Coast sever ties with Beaumelle

Defenders: Carlos Akapo (Cadiz, Spain), Marvin Anieboh (Cacereno, Spain), Cosme Anvene (Deportivo Unidad, Equatorial Guinea), Saul Coco (Las Palmas, Spain), Miguel Angel Maye (Futuro Kings, Equatorial Guinea), Luis Meseguer (Navalcarnero, Spain), Basilio Ndong (Start, Norway), Luis Enrique Nsue (Futuro Kings, Equatorial Guinea), Esteban Obiang (Antequera, Spain)

Midfielders: Javier Akapo (Ibiza Islas Pitiusas, Spain), Alex Balboa (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Ruben Belima, Federico Bikoro (both Hercules), Jannick Buyla (Gimnastic Tarragona, Spain), Santiago Eneme (Nantes, France), Pablo Ganet (Real Murcia, Spain), Jose Machin (Monza, Italy), Josete Miranda (Niki Volos, Greece).

Forwards: Dorian Hanza (Langreo, Spain), Luis Nlavo (Sporting Braga, Portugal), Emilio Nsue (unattached), Pedro Oba (Futuro Kings, Equatorial Guinea), Iban Salvador (Fuenlabrada, Spain), Oscar Siafa (Olympiakos Volos, Greece).

You might like

About the Author: Silver Opera

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.