The Nigeria Football Federation- History , Website , How To Join

Nigeria’s football Federation  is the governing body (which was previously known as the Nigeria Football Association until 2008). In 1945, it was formally established, and in 1949, the first Nigerian national football team was constituted.

It became a member of the CAF in 1959, and in 1960, it became a member of FIFA. The National Football Federation’s headquarters are in Abuja, Nigeria.

How To Join The Nigeria Football Federation

Here is a simple guide on how to join the Nigerian Football Association:

Write a Letter of Application

You must submit an application letter to the board in which you express your interest in joining and your desire to enroll. You would emphasize the goal of your enrolment as showcasing your talent to the world and assisting the Nigeria Football Federation in reaching new heights, among other things.


When you’ve finished drafting your application letter and received approval from the board, you’ll need to register for NFF and pay the N300,000 registration cost (Three hundred thousand Naira only). After you’ve finished filling out the registration form with your information, you’ll need to attach your passport photo.

Passport for International Travel

If you do not already have an international passport, you should apply for one as soon as possible because it will come in handy when it comes time to submit your data and process your travel overseas.

Report of Police Clearance

Another thing you must do is produce a police clearance report so that they can determine whether or not you have a criminal past.

See also  Record: 5 Most Goals In Soccer Game Ever

Make a submission to the NFF Glass House in Abuja

The next step is to submit your application form to the NFF Glass House in Abuja, along with the essential information about yourself. This is where your application will be reviewed to see if it fits the Nigeria Football Federation’s requirements.

List Of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) President from Inception

Below is the list of presidents that has headed the Nigeria Football Federation:

  • England —Pa Mulford (1945–1947)
  • England— Pius Quist(Anthony) (1947–1949)
  • England —D.H. Holley (1949–1950)
  • England —P. Harvey (1951–1953)
  • England— N. Miller (1954–1956)
  • England —Dennis J. Slattery (1957–1958)
  • England —R.B. Allen (1959–1960)
  • Nigeria —Godfrey Amachree (1960–1961)
  • Nigeria —F.A.S. Ogunmuyiwa (1961–1962)
  • Nigeria —Louis Edet May (1962–1963)
  • Nigeria —M.S. Adawale(Acting) (1963–1963)
  • Nigeria —A.B. Osula (Acting) (1963–1963)
  • Nigeria —Francis Giwa-Osagie (1964–1964)
  • Nigeria —Ishola Bajulaiye (1965–1965)
  • Nigeria —Chuba Ikpeazu (1965–1967)
  • Nigeria —Godfrey Amachree (1967–1970)
  • Nigeria —Kevin Lawson(Col.) (1971–1971)
  • Nigeria —Edwin Kentebbe(Comdr.) (1971–1972)
  • Nigeria —Ademola Adeoba(Acting) (1972–1972)
  • Nigeria —Emmanuel Sotomi(Brig.) (1973–1973)
  • Nigeria —Sunday Dankaro (1974–1980)
  • Nigeria —Mike Okwechime(Col.) (1981 – May 1982)
  • Nigeria —Edwin Kentebbe(Comdr.) 1982–1983
  • Nigeria —Tony Ikazoboh (1983–1987)
  • Nigeria —John Obakpolor (1987–1988)
  • Nigeria —Chuba Ikpeazu (1988–1989)
  • Nigeria —Efiom Okon (Interim) (1989)
  • Nigeria —Tony Ikazoboh (1989)
  • Nigeria —Yusuf Ali (1990–1991)
  • Nigeria —Efiom Okon (1991–1992)
  • Nigeria —Amos Adamu (1992–1993)
  • Nigeria —Emeka Omeruah (1993–1997)
  • Nigeria —Abdulmumini Aminu (1997–1999)
  • Nigeria —Kojo Williams (1999)
  • Nigeria —Dominic Oneya (1999–2002)
  • Nigeria —Ibrahim Galadima (2002–2006)
  • Nigeria —Sani Lulu (2006–2010)
  • Nigeria —Aminu Maigari (2010–2014)
  • Nigeria —Amaju Pinnick (2014‒present)
See also  Egypt's proposed team for the 2021 African Cup of Nations  led by Liverpool's Mohamed Salah

Key Info About The NFF

— Formerly known as The Nigerian Football Association (NFA).


— First President:Pa Mulford (1945–1947)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q:Who is the current NFF chairman in Nigeria?

A: Amaju Melvin Pinnick (born December 1, 1970) is the Nigerian football Federation Admin who is now the president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), a position he has held since September 2014.

Q:Who introduced football in Nigeria?

A: The British were the first to bring football to Nigeria around the turn of the twentieth century. In 1904, Nigeria hosted its first football match. Football had become the country’s national sport by 1950.

Q: Where is Nigeria Football Federation located in Abuja?

A:Plot 2033, Olusegun Obasanjo Way, Zone 7, Wuse, Abuja

Q: When was NFF formed?

A: The NFF was founded in 1945.


The Nigerian football association runs three leagues, including the Nigerian Premier League, Amateur League, and Women’s League, as well as five competitions, including the Federation Cup and Women’s Cup, as of 2008. The next election will take place in 2022.

The body has been accused of corruption severally but as the day goes by they keep waxing stronger.


You might like

About the Author: Silver Opera

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.